Fresh Dew Daily Devotional: Am NOt The First And I

Date: 15/08/2013
Bible Reading: Jeremiah 13-15; John 15

Scripture: ” If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also…” John 15:20b NIV

Observation: In very clear words, Jesus prepared HIs disciples for an unprecedented show of hate. He said without mincing words that as He was persecuted, so would His disciples and those who believe in Him be persecuted. And this will be so because they no more belonged to the world just as He does not belong to the world. He maintained that their decision to believe in Him will provoke the world to persecute them even unto death. In view of this, His disciples must be strong in their Kingdom pursuit in the face of persecution that will arise.

Application: Just as Jesus was hated, so will I be hated. I should not see the challenges I am facing today as something unusual but one that is peculiar to all those who confess Him and do His will.

Prayer: Strengthen me in the face of hate and persecution. When I am weak and falling, Holy Spirit lift me.

Leave a Reply

