Fresh Dew Daily Devotional: Love, The New Commandment.

Date: 11/08/2013
Bible Reading: Jremiah 7-9; John 13

Scripture: “I give you a new commandment: that you should love one another.” John 13: 34 AMP

Observation: As part of Jesus’ preparation towards His death, He engaged them in a remarkable event: at the Passover Feast table, Jesus washed His disciples feet, then He charged them to do the same one to the other and this He said was an example—a sign of humility and servanthood to them. Having done that, He gave a charge to them to love one another. This act of love Jesus said is the means by which the outside world would know they are His diciples.

Application: Jesus said that my proof to the outside world that I am part of Him is my simple show of love to other members of His body. Have I, therefore, seized every opportunity to do good to all members of God’s household or I do it selectively and at my convinience?

Leave a Reply

